Review: ‘Angelborn’ by L. Penelope

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 4/5 stars

image

Blurb:

‘Maia:

It’s hard to be normal when you see the dead everywhere. So I gave up. I just focus on staying out of their way. But the guy haunting my roommate is different. He’s impossible to ignore, and now other people can see him too.

He says my roommate is the only one who can save him from an eternity of torment. But one night he follows me into my nightmare and rescues me from my demons.Now he’s all I think about. This must be what it’s like to fall… for someone who can never be mine.

Caleb:

A lifetime ago, I found my soulmate in the human world. But being angelborn means I don’t have a soul. When I lost my one true love, I lost my future and my freedom. Now, I have a second chance — she’s been reborn and I must gain her love again or serve out the rest of my eternal sentence alone.

But this time I am a fugitive with powerful angels hunting me, and I’m running out of time. You only get one soulmate, and mine isn’t the broken, scarred girl, who sees what no one else can. She’s a distraction I can scarcely afford — but I’m unable to stay away from her.’

When I first read the blurb for ‘Angelborn’ by L. Penelope I was not sure whether to read it or not. Previous reading experiences with books about Angels were a bit hit and miss, but seeing as this is only a short novel I decided to go for it. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised and even would have liked the book to be longer!
Maia is girl who keeps to herself. Everywhere she turns, she can see the ghosts of dead people who never moved on and it is often not easy to distinguish between the living and the dead. All she wants is, to make it through university, but her roommate is being haunted by a ghost who seems different.
Caleb is Angelborn, which means his mother is an angel and his dad was human. It also means that he had no soul. When gets a second chance on earth, he is determined not to waste the opportunity and goes in search of the only person who can safe him…his soulmate.
The characters are lovely and likeable and the theme of angels and soul mates well thought out. There really is not much I can fault and I enjoyed reading the book. I shall be getting myself the second book soon, to find out what happened to Caleb’s friend Wren!

__________

Leave a Reply

