Review: ‘Darkness’ by Karen Robards

⭐️⭐️⭐️ 3/5 stars

image

Blurb: New York Times bestselling author Karen Robards continues her penchant for “fantastic storytelling” (RT Book Reviews) with this next heart-pumping romantic suspense novel, the tale of a brilliant ornithologist trapped on the remote Attu Island in Alaska, fighting for her life—and that of a handsome stranger—before they’re swallowed up in darkness forever. 

BOOM. That’s the sound that changes everything for Dr. Gina Sullivan, a renowned ornithologist on a group research grant trip on the remote island of Attu, Alaska. When an everyday outing turns sinister at the onset of one of Attu’s infamous storms, Gina expects thunder and lightning—but what she doesn’t see coming is the small jet plane that drops out of the sky and into the water mere feet from her boat. Even more unprecedented: there’s a sole survivor from the crash, and he needs Gina’s help. But it turns out that rescuing the stranger and getting them both out of the oncoming storm is just the beginning. Because the more Gina learns about James “Cal” Callahan, he of brooding eyes and muscled frame, the more she fears—for herself, and for him.

Cal has made a career of trading on government secrets and emerging unscathed—until a routine pickup goes horribly wrong and lands him in ice-cold water. Literally. He knows the plane crash was no accident and that there could very well be an enemy force currently combing the Alaskan island ensuring there were no survivors. Now if only the arrestingly beautiful bird-watcher with the clear-blue gaze would stop watching him, well, like a hawk. Cal convinces Gina to return to base camp and help him covertly get off the island. But when Gina makes it safely back to camp and finds her entire team murdered, all bets are off, and as darkness envelops the island, she must decide: trust a man she barely knows, or go it alone and risk running straight into the arms of a killer?

Karen Robards’ book ‘Darkness’ again is not a book I would usually pick up, but the storyline sounded interesting and, even if it is not really that relevant, I have an interest in Ornithology.
Dr Gina Sullivan is an ornithologist who is taking part in a research trip on a remote island in Alaska. While on a small boat of the coast, observing rare birds, she witnesses a small plane crashing into the sea. After saving the sole survivor from the sea during one of the islands unpredictable storms and a cold and uncomfortable night out in the elements, Gina is realising not everything is as it seems. Soon Gina and the stranger are running for their lives after finding the rest of the research crew dead.
This is the first Karen Robards book I have read, so I have no idea of this is her usual style, but I found the first third of the book quite slow and cluttered with a lot of observations and other things that didn’t really add to the story. But that is just my opinion, other readers may see it differently. It was still an enjoyable read once it picked up after that first third or so.

Published March 29th 2016 

I have received this book through Bookbridgr!

__________

Advertisements

Review: ‘The Second Love of my Life’ by Victoria Walters

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 4/5 stars

image

Blurb: Victoria Walters’ debut novel is a powerful tale of love, grief and survival, perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Lucy Dillon and Miranda Dickinson. ‘Brilliant and superior women’s fiction’ Heat. In the Cornish town of Talting, everyone is famous for something. Until recently Rose was known for many things: her infectious positivity; her unique artistic talent; and her devotion to childhood sweetheart Lucas. 

But two years ago that changed in one unthinkable moment. Now, Rose is known for being the young woman who became a widow aged just twenty-four. Though Rose knows that life must go on, the thought of carving out a new future for herself is one she can barely entertain. Until a newcomer, Robert, arrives in Talting for the summer…

Can Rose allow herself the chance to love again?

Get lost in Victoria Walters’ immensely touching debut novel, and discover a world that will capture your imagination and heart.

‘The Second love of my Life’ by Victoria Walters is a story about love, loss and grief…and how you have to find yourself again, before you can move on to love and be loved again!

Rose lived in the small town of Talting in Cornwall and her life seemed perfect. She was married to her childhood friend Lucas and she was a creative artist, painting pictures. Two years ago everything changed though, when she became a widow at just twenty-four years old. Now she is trying to move on, but her inspiration for painting has disappeared and a future without Lucas is something she can’t imagine. Suddenly a stranger arrives in Talting for the summer and everything changes for Rose…

Usually I am not too into chick lit, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one and I am glad that I received a copy. Even with the end predictable, following Rose’s journey of self discovery and slowly falling in love again was enjoyable and at no point boring. Victoria Walters’ debut is a beautifully emotional read and I am looking forward to reading more of her!’

Published April 7th 2016

I have received this book through Bookbridgr!

__________

Stacking the Shelves #12

image

Hosted by http://tyngasreviews.com
This week, I have added a total of 4 books to my shelf! I have received 3 books in the mail, two of which were sent to me through Bookbridgr and I had 1 eBook approved on NetGalley!

___

‘The Tree of Souls’ by Katrina Archer

image.jpeg

Blurb: A murky past. A forbidden love. A deathly power. When the river spits Umbra onto its bank, naked and shivering, the only clue to her identity is the arcane brand seared into her skin. A brand hunted by both a murderous necromancer and a handsome stranger. A brand that thrusts Umbra into a simmering conflict between the ascendant Clans and the nomadic Gherza. A brand that may make her the key to averting all-out war. The Tree of Souls weaves an intimate tale of dark sorcery, doomed love, and implacable revenge, amid an age-old clash of nations, with all the souls of the living hanging in the balance.

Expected publication: May 1st 2016

_____

‘The Silvered Heart’ by Katherine Clements

image.jpeg

Blurb: The legendary figure of Kate Ferrars, the infamous highwaywoman, is brought gloriously to life in this gripping tale of infatuation, betrayal and survival. 

‘The distant thrum of galloping hooves conjures nothing but doubt and fear these days.’

1648: Civil war is devastating England. The privileged world Katherine Ferrars knows is crumbling under Cromwell’s army, and as an orphaned heiress, she has no choice but to do her duty and marry for the sake of family. But as her marriage turns into a prison, and her fortune is decimated by the war, Kate becomes increasingly desperate. So when she meets the enigmatic Ralph Chaplin, she seizes the chance he offers. Their plan is daring and brutal, but it’s an escape from poverty and the shackles of convention. They both know if they’re caught, there’s only one way it can end…

Expected publication: May 17th 2016 (first published May 7th 2015)

I have received this book through Bookbridgr!

_____

‘Redemption Road’ by John Hart

image.jpeg

Blurb: Over 2 million copies of his books in print. The first and only author to win back-to-back Edgars for Best Novel. Every book a New York Times bestseller. Now after five years, John Hart is back with a stunning literary thriller. 

Imagine: 

A boy with a gun waits for the man who killed his mother.

A troubled detective confronts her past in the aftermath of a brutal shooting. 

After thirteen years in prison, a good cop walks free. But for how long?

And deep in the forest, on the altar of an abandoned church, the unthinkable has just happened…

This is a town on the brink. This is a road with no mercy. After five years, John Hart returns with Redemption Road, his most powerful story yet.

Expected publication: May 3rd 2016 

I have received this book through Bookbridgr!

_____

‘The Museum of You’ by Carys Bray

image.jpeg

Blurb: Clover Quinn was a surprise. She used to imagine she was the good kind, now she’s not sure. She’d like to ask Dad about it, but growing up in the saddest chapter of someone else’s story is difficult. She tries not to skate on the thin ice of his memories. Darren has done his best. He’s studied his daughter like a seismologist on the lookout for waves and surrounded her with everything she might want – everything he can think of, at least – to be happy. What Clover wants is answers. This summer, she thinks she can find them in the second bedroom, which is full of her mother’s belongings. Volume isn’t important, what she is looking for is essence; the undiluted bits: a collection of things that will tell the full story of her mother, her father and who she is going to be. But what you find depends on what you’re searching for.

Expected publication: June 16th 2016

I have received this eBook through NetGalley!

__________

Review: ‘Wolf by Wolf’ by Ryan Graudin

⭐️⭐️⭐️ 3/5 stars

image

Blurb: ‘The year is 1956, and the Axis powers of the Third Reich and Imperial Japan rule the world. To commemorate their Great Victory over Britain and Russia, Hitler and Emperor Hirohito host the Axis Tour: an annual motorcycle race across their conjoined continents. The victor is awarded an audience with the highly reclusive Adolf Hitler at the Victor’s ball.

Yael, who escaped from a death camp, has one goal: Win the race and kill Hitler. A survivor of painful human experimentation, Yael has the power to skinshift and must complete her mission by impersonating last year’s only female victor, Adele Wolfe. This deception becomes more difficult when Felix, Adele twin’s brother, and Luka, her former love interest, enter the race and watch Yael’s every move. But as Yael begins to get closer to the other competitors, can she bring herself to be as ruthless as she needs to be to avoid discovery and complete her mission.’

‘Wolf by Wolf’ by author Ryan Graudin is the story of Adele Wolf. It is set a decade after World War 2 in which the ruling countries, Germany and Japan, celebrate with a yearly motorbike race. The race is only open typing men, but the previous year, Adele Wolf took part, disguised as her brother and won. As the winner, she met the Führer, who lives a very secluded and protected life. In this years race, she is supposed to race again, but enemies of the Führer have other plans. I am a bit torn about this book. There were parts I really enjoyed, the fast paced parts when they were racing, but I just couldn’t get my head around the rest of the story. I think some people who enjoy certain science fiction genres will love this book, but unfortunately for me it just wasn’t the kind of book I enjoy.’

Published October 20th 2015

I have received this book over NetGalley!