Review: ‘The Second Love of my Life’ by Victoria Walters

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 4/5 stars

image

Blurb: Victoria Walters’ debut novel is a powerful tale of love, grief and survival, perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Lucy Dillon and Miranda Dickinson. ‘Brilliant and superior women’s fiction’ Heat. In the Cornish town of Talting, everyone is famous for something. Until recently Rose was known for many things: her infectious positivity; her unique artistic talent; and her devotion to childhood sweetheart Lucas. 

But two years ago that changed in one unthinkable moment. Now, Rose is known for being the young woman who became a widow aged just twenty-four. Though Rose knows that life must go on, the thought of carving out a new future for herself is one she can barely entertain. Until a newcomer, Robert, arrives in Talting for the summer…

Can Rose allow herself the chance to love again?

Get lost in Victoria Walters’ immensely touching debut novel, and discover a world that will capture your imagination and heart.

‘The Second love of my Life’ by Victoria Walters is a story about love, loss and grief…and how you have to find yourself again, before you can move on to love and be loved again!

Rose lived in the small town of Talting in Cornwall and her life seemed perfect. She was married to her childhood friend Lucas and she was a creative artist, painting pictures. Two years ago everything changed though, when she became a widow at just twenty-four years old. Now she is trying to move on, but her inspiration for painting has disappeared and a future without Lucas is something she can’t imagine. Suddenly a stranger arrives in Talting for the summer and everything changes for Rose…

Usually I am not too into chick lit, but I thoroughly enjoyed this one and I am glad that I received a copy. Even with the end predictable, following Rose’s journey of self discovery and slowly falling in love again was enjoyable and at no point boring. Victoria Walters’ debut is a beautifully emotional read and I am looking forward to reading more of her!’

Published April 7th 2016

I have received this book through Bookbridgr!

__________

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s