Review: ‘Paper Butterflies’ by Lisa Heathfield

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 5/5 stars

image

Blurb:  June’s life at home with her stepmother and stepsister is a dark one – and a secret one. She is trapped like a butterfly in a net.

But then June meets Blister, a boy in the woods. In him she recognises the tiniest glimmer of hope that perhaps she can find a way to fly far, far away from her home and be free. Because every creature in this world deserves their freedom . . . But at what price?

Paper Butterflies is an unforgettable read, perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven, Jandy Nelson, Sarah Crossan and Louise O’Neill.

Oh my god…where do I start? This book by Lisa Heathfield is the most emotional book I have read in a long time…maybe ever! It is the story of June, who lives with her dad, stepmother and stepsister. Her life is dark one, full of bullying, doubt, abuse and sadness, until she meets Blister. They form a strong friendship. He brings some light and hope into June’s life and for the first time she believes that she can escape that life and be free.
The chapters in this book alternate between ‘before’ and ‘after’. The ‘before’ chapters are outtakes of June’s life from a young girl up to her teenage years and the ‘after’ chapters are June when she is a bit older, reflecting on events from the past. It all gives this constant feeling of dread, which grows and grows as it becomes apparent that somewhere along the line something awful must happen. Sometimes I just wanted to stop reading because it was almost painful, but I couldn’t, because I needed to know if June was going to be ok.
This book had me in tears and quite frankly broke me a little! Absolutely brilliant writing from Lisa Heathfield and I am sure June’s story will stay with me for a while!

Expected publication: June 30th 2016

Thank you to MaximumPopBooks! for this review copy!

__________

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s