Stacking the Shelves ~ 23rd July 2016

image

Hosted by http://tyngasreviews.com

This week, I have added a total of 2 books to my shelf. Both were sent to me by the publishers and one of them is as part of a blog tour.


‘The Empathy Problem’ by Gavin Extence

First of all this book was a lovely surprise to find in my mailbox! I have read previous books by Gavin Extence and I am really excited to get started on this one! 

Thank you to the publisher and Gavin Extence for letting me review this book! 

image

Blurb: Perfect for fans of Graeme Simsion’s The Rosie Project and Gavin Extence’s debut novel THE UNIVERSE VERSUS ALEX WOODS, comes a wild and witty, searing and true novel about life’s ups and downs.

Driven by money, power and success, Gabriel has worked ruthlessly to get to the very top of the banking game. He’s not going to let the inconvenience of a terminal brain tumour get in his way.

But the tumour has other ideas. As it grows, it appears to be doing strange things to Gabriel’s personality. Whether he likes it or not, he seems to be becoming less selfish, less mercenary, less unlikeable.

Once he could dismiss the rest of humanity as irrelevant. Now he’s not so sure. Women, in particular, are becoming worryingly three-dimensional. And none more so than Caitlin, the ‘unremarkable’ girl he sees busking on the steps of St Paul’s Cathedral. When she plays her violin, Gabriel could almost believe that he has a soul…

But as each day that passes brings him closer to his last, has time run out for second chances?

Bestselling author Gavin Extence pushes the envelope again with another thought-provoking and funny novel about the surprises, good and bad, that life can throw at us. 

Expected publication: August 11th 2016


‘Unnatural Souls’ by Linda Foster

This eBook was sent to me by the publisher after signing up to the blog tour, which will happen at the beginning of August!

image

Blurb: It’s been almost a year since the night of the accident that should have killed Grace. Nearly a year since her brother, Ash, sold his soul to save her. She survived, but that wasn’t the end of their story.

Not even close.

In the months since, Grace’s life has turned upside down. She can move objects with her mind, teleport in a blink of an eye, see dead people … and that’s just the tip of the crazy train.

And that would be fine, really … if she had any idea how to control it.

Instead, she’s stuck in a body that does things she doesn’t understand. And now, the contract her brother made for her life is drawing to a close. Which means he’s running out of time before the demon comes to collect his soul.

Unless Grace can find a way to save him.

When an angel named Michael shows up with answers and an offer to help her, she jumps at the chance—and agrees to help him with his own mission as the price.

Then she finds out that Michael is working with another demon. That the deal she’s made … is no better than the one from which she’s trying to save Ash. And she’s faced with a choice: turn and walk away, or try to save her brother—by working with the very monsters who have nearly destroyed them both.

Expected publication: August 2nd 2016 by Glass House Press


Advertisements

One thought on “Stacking the Shelves ~ 23rd July 2016

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s