Blog Tour: ‘The Empathy Problem’ by Gavin Extence

‘The Empathy Problem’ by Gavin Extence

Perfect for fans of Graeme Simsion’s The Rosie Project and Gavin Extence’s debut novel THE UNIVERSE VERSUS ALEX WOODS, comes a wild and witty, searing and true novel about life’s ups and downs.

image

About the Book:

Driven by money, power and success, Gabriel has worked ruthlessly to get to the very top of the banking game. He’s not going to let the inconvenience of a terminal brain tumour get in his way.

But the tumour has other ideas. As it grows, it appears to be doing strange things to Gabriel’s personality. Whether he likes it or not, he seems to be becoming less selfish, less mercenary, less unlikeable.

Once he could dismiss the rest of humanity as irrelevant. Now he’s not so sure. Women, in particular, are becoming worryingly three-dimensional. And none more so than Caitlin, the ‘unremarkable’ girl he sees busking on the steps of St Paul’s Cathedral. When she plays her violin, Gabriel could almost believe that he has a soul…

But as each day that passes brings him closer to his last, has time run out for second chances?

Bestselling author Gavin Extence pushes the envelope again with another thought-provoking and funny novel about the surprises, good and bad, that life can throw at us.

Published August 11th 2016 by Hodder & Stoughton

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/30302081-the-empathy-problem


My Review:

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ 4/5 stars

What can I say about this book? Having read and loved ‘The Mirror World of Melody Black’, I was excited to immerse myself into another book by Gavin Extence.
This time we were following main character Gabriel Vaughn. He is vain, arrogant, unfeeling and works as an hedge-fund manager for a company in London, earning millions of pounds a year. When he finds out that he has a brain tumour and only months to live, everything changes.
But are the changes just due to the tumour messing with his brain or is he actually becoming a better person?
I don’t think I have ever had such a love/hate relationship with a main character before! Gabriel’s journey through this book is not a straight forward one and I found myself frequently shaking my head at the choices he made, especially when Caitlin came into picture. It just felt inevitable that something would happen and I couldn’t wait to get to the end of the book to see how everything would work out.
I will not spoil the end here for anyone, but was not disappointed and found it fitting and a lovely touch.
What I also love about all of Gavin’s books is his writing style. It makes it so easy to fly through these books and still be totally caught up in it.
The only thing I wasn’t too fond of in this book, was all the talk about Gabriel’s job. I have no clue or interest in financial markets, stocks etc so I found that part of the book a bit tedious. But that is literally the only negative I could write about!
A brilliant book about second chances in life by Gavin Extence. I am looking forward to what he is coming up with next!


About the Author:

image

Gavin Extence was born in 1982 and grew up in the interestingly named village of Swineshead, Lincolnshire. From the ages of 5-11, he enjoyed a brief but illustrious career as a chess player, winning numerous national championships and travelling to Moscow and St Petersburg to pit his wits against the finest young minds in Russia. He won only one game. When he is not writing, he enjoys cooking, amateur astronomy and going to Alton Towers.


Thank you to Gavin Extence, Ruby Mitchell and Hodder & Stoughton for sending me a copy of the book and letting me be part of this blog tour!

Follow the rest of the Blog Tour here:

image

Advertisements

One thought on “Blog Tour: ‘The Empathy Problem’ by Gavin Extence

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s